Moeraki Boulders

 

mb3

Almost perfectly spherical grey boulders, with a circumference of up to 4m, scattered on the beach at Moeraki, were formed on the sea bed about 60 million years ago as lime salts gradually accumulated around a hard core. These magical boulders are located 78km north of Dunedin on State Highway 1 (credit to DK Eyewitness Travel). I once visited the Moeraki Reserves during my winter holidays. I and my friend Sue met these friendly guys (as in my pictures). If you guys see my post please contact my twitter @fiordlandlover

mb1

mb4

mb5

Leave a Reply

